More news

More news

Teaching Innovation Award Presented in Honor of EEB Emeritus Professor Chris Haufler

The Christopher Haufler KU Core Innovation Award was presented to members of the Department of Philosophy at the Center for Teaching Excellence Event on Aug. 18. This departmental teaching innovation award is in honor of EEB Emeritus Christopher Haufler. The EEB department is thankful for Haufler'…

EEB faculty members recognized for teaching excellence!

Professor Paulyn Cartwright was awarded the Ned N. Fleming Trust Award for teaching excellence. EEB PhD recipient and now assistant teaching professor in KU Undergraduate Biology, Victor Gonzalez, was awarded the Bob & Kathie Taylor Excellence in Teaching Award. Professor Mark Mort was awarded…

Cartwright Receives 1 of 8 Distinguished Teaching Awards

Eight faculty members at the University of Kansas are being recognized as winners of annual distinguished teaching awards. The award recipients will be honored Aug. 18 at the KU Teaching Summit. Paulyn Cartwright, professor in the Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, will receive the…

Agusto Receives NSF Grant

Dr. Folashade Agusto, associate professor in EEB, received 1 of 8 National Science Foundation awards on Incorporating Human Behavior in Epidemiological Models (IHBEM). Agusto is the primary investigator, and this award will be in collaboration with the University of Kansas Medical Center Research…

Paulyn Cartwright awarded Baumgartner Professorship in Biology

The College of Liberal Arts & Sciences at the University of Kansas has announced the inaugural award of the Baumgartner Professorship in Biology to Paulyn Cartwright, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology. The Baumgartner Professorship is named for Professor William J. Baumgartner,…


Professor Rafe Brown is co-author of a recent investigation published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, which reveals statistical support for a “species pump” in the Philippines during the ice age. Lead author Jamie Oaks of Auburn University and co-author Cameron Siler of the…

Justin Blumenstiel Receives Mentor Award

Congratulations to Justin Blumenstiel. He’s the recipient of the 2022 Grant Goodman Undergraduate Mentor Award! This award honors faculty whose mentorship continues to support and inspire students long after they leave the classroom.

Genomic research on scrub jays reveals new species

The paper, appearing in Systematic Biology, uses genomic data to sketch a natural history of scrub jays, showing how geographic changes over millennia split up and reconnected groups of the birds, swaying the flow of genes between them. Lead author Devon DeRaad, is a doctoral student at the…

Congratulations to three EEB professors for recent awards

Victor H. Gonzalez Betancourt received the Bob & Kathie Taylor Excellence in Teaching Award. Mart Mort received the Chancellors Club Teaching Professorship. Paulyn Cartwright received the Ned Fleming Trust Award. Congratulations on your well-deserved achievements!

Sharon Billings named University Distinguished Professor

Sharon Billings, dean’s professor and senior scientist, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Kansas Biological Survey & Center for Ecological Research has received the designation of University Distinguished Professor. Billings is known nationally and internationally for working…

Media Contacts

Sharon Suppes
Administrative Associate