More news

More news

Dr. Sharon Billings named an AAAS fellow

Dr. Sharon Billings, Dean's Professor with the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, and Senior Scientist with the Kansas Biological Survey, has been named an American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) fellow, a distinct honor within the scientific community.

Dr. John Kelly receives the Olin Petefish Award in Basic Sciences

Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Dr. John Kelly is one of four KU faculty members to be named a recipient of the Higuchi-KU Endowment Research Achievement Awards.

Community mourns death of Ken Armitage

The professor emeritus joined KU's Department of Zoology in 1956 and retired in 1996. He was a renowned scholar of marmots, a founder of KU's undergraduate environmental studies program and is a namesake of the Armitage Education Center at KU Field Station.

Dr. Leo Smith earns 2021 Margaret Stewart Award for Excellence

Congratulations to Dr. Leo Smith as the recipient of the 2021 Margaret Stewart Award for Excellence in Ichthyology. This award recognizes mid-career researchers for outstanding contributions to the study of fishes.

Take It Outside! Field Experiences for Jayhawks

EEB is collaborating with the KU Field Station, Kansas Biological Survey and Environmental Studies to raise funds to expand field course opportunities for KU students. Read about our efforts to help support these engaging, hands-on experiences for students and consider donating at Take It Outside!…

EEB students share knowledge with local fifth-graders

In early December, Sarah Flynn and Noelle Schlenk from KU's Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology shared their expertise with fifth grade students at Basehor Intermediate to shed light on a variety of topics and help inform an ongoing project.

KU Mammals Collection to Modernize Storage

KU news is reporting a major new award to EEB Faculty Member Jocelyn Colella and others that will modernize storage facilities for the KU Biodiversity Institute's collection of mammal specimens. 

EEB Graduate Student Recognized as Finalist in 3 Minute Thesis Competition

Graduate student Laura Y. Podzikowski has recently been recognized as a finalist in the KU 3 Minute Thesis Competition for her video presentation on "Plants to Capture Carbon: Why Diversity Matters."

Peterson Recognized as Top Climate Change Scientist

KU EEB Professor Town Peterson has recently been recognized by Reuters as one of the 1,000 most influential scientists investigating global climate change. 

Media Contacts

To update the Media Contacts, you will need to edit the "Media Contacts" section in the footer section of the News view. Please note that only site admins have the ability to edit it.

Edit Media Contacts